Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements for All 50 States

Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements for All 50 States
  Find Your State's Continuing Education Requirements

After you become a real estate agent or broker, you must renew your license by taking Continuing Education, also known as CE. In this guide, we break down the real estate continuing education requirements needed to keep your license active as listed by each state’s Real Estate Commission.

Learn How to Renew Your Real Estate License

Find out if VanEd - Real Estate School offers online continuing education courses for your state.

  Find Your CE Courses

Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements in 2021

Locate your state in the list below to see how to renew your real estate license and how many continuing education hours are required by your state's real estate commission.

Alabama

Renewal Period: Every two (2) years.

Every two years a total of fifteen (15) clock hours of continuing education prescribed by the Commission is required for renewal of an active license. These hours must be completed by September 30 of every even year. The fifteen-hour continuing education course requirement is as follows:

  • Three (3) clock hours in the Commission-approved Risk Management course.
  • Twelve (12) clock hours in Commission approved courses.

Post-License

Completion of the 30-hour post-license course for salespersons within the first six months of licensure for active licensees and within one year for inactive licensees.

Note: There is no post license requirement for brokers.

Alabama Real Estate CE Courses

Alaska

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Alaska Real Estate License – Brokers and Salespersons

All Alaska Real Estate Licensees must complete 20 continuing education hours every 24 months (except those licensed less than 90 days prior to expiration). Licensees expire on January 31 of even years. Eight (8) hours of core curriculum is required.

New Broker and Salesperson

All new licensees are required to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education pursuant to 12AAC 64.064. This education is in addition to the 20 hours of continuing education that must be completed prior to license renewal.

Licensees must submit the Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education and fee within 30 days after the 12 month period.

Arizona

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Real Estate Agent & Associate Brokers License Requirements

Required twenty-four (24) hours of CE courses.

  • 3 hours Agency (A)
  • 3 hours Commissioner’s Standards (CS)
  • 3 hours Contract Law (CL)
  • 3 hours Disclosure (D)
  • 3 hours Fair Housing (FH)
  • 3 hours Real Estate Legal Issues (L)
  • 6 hours General

Real Estate Broker (Designated, Delegated Associate and Self-Employed) License Requirements

Required thirty (30) hours of CE courses.

  • 3 hours Agency (A)
  • 3 hours Contract Law (CL)
  • 3 hours Disclosure (D)
  • 3 hours Fair Housing (FH)
  • 3 hours Real Estate Legal Issues (L)
  • 6 hours General (G)
  • 9 hours Broker Management Clinic (CS)

(for all) General hours for both may be in any of the above categories OR general real estate so long as the licensee does not repeat the same course twice.

Arizona Real Estate CE Courses

Arkansas

Renewal Period: Every year

All Agents and Brokers

Arkansas licensees are required to take 7 continuing education hours every 12 months.

2021 Education Topics:

  • 1 hour of Safety
  • 6 hours of elective hours

*First year renewals are not req'd to take CE but they are required to take 18 hours of post-licensing.

Arkansas Real Estate Commission

California

Renewal Period: Four (4) years

Broker and Salespersons After First Renewal

Those who have already renewed their license once must complete a total of 45 hours of approved CE courses for subsequent renewals:

  • One 8-hour survey course covering the 6 mandatory course subjects (in Ethics, Agency, Fair Housing, Trust Fund Handling, Risk Management, and Management and Supervision) or licensees can choose to take each of the mandatory subjects separately;
  • At least 18 hours of consumer protection courses; and
  • The remaining clock hours required to complete the 45 hours may be related to either consumer service or consumer protection

Broker First-Time Renewal

Brokers renewing for the first time must complete a total of 45 hours of approved CE courses:

  • 6 separate 3-hour courses in Ethics, Agency, Fair Housing, Trust Fund Handling, Risk Management, and Management and Supervision;
  • A minimum of 18 hours of consumer protection courses; and
  • The remaining clock hours required to complete the 45 hours may be related to either consumer service or consumer protection 

Salesperson First-Time Renewal

Sales Agents renewing for the first time must complete a total of 45 hours of approved CE courses:

  • 5 separate 3-hour courses in Ethics, Agency, Fair Housing, Trust Fund Handling, Risk Management and;
  • A minimum of 18 hours of consumer protection courses; and
  • The remaining clock hours required to complete the 45 hours may be related to either consumer service or consumer protection

California Real Estate CE Courses

Colorado

Renewal Period: Three (3) years

Salespersons and Brokers

  • Total Hours Required: 24
  • Mandatory Hours: 12
  • Elective Hours: 12

Colorado Real Estate Brokers must complete 24 hours of continuing education every 3 years.

License renewal dates vary depending on initial license date. Licenses expire December 31, every three years beginning with the year the license was first issued.

Twelve (12) of those hours are approved elective credit courses. The other 12 hours are comprised of the 4-hour Annual Commission Update Course. This annual course is updated every year and each version must be taken every year.

Colorado Real Estate CE Courses

Connecticut

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Continuing Education Requirements for Salespersons and Brokers

Every two years, the State of Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection's Real Estate Commission requires licensees to complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education (CE). Continuing Education is due on the even-numbered renewal years and must be completed PRIOR to renewing your license in all even-numbered years.

For 2022:

The State of CT DCP has announced that a 100% audit will be performed on all Salespersons and Brokers licensed in CT to determine that all licensees have complied with and satisfied the requirements stated below:

Two 3-hour 2022 mandatory courses — (both are required):

  • CT Real Estate Law for Brokers & Salespersons; and
  • Understanding and Preventing Racial Bias in Real Estate

Plus Six (6) hours of real estate elective courses.

OR

You may elect to pass a 40-question Connecticut Continuing Education Examination administered by PSI. Contact the testing company (PSI) directly at 1-800-733-9267 or visit www.psiexams.com. When calling PSI to schedule, be sure to specify that you want to take the “Connecticut Continuing Education 40-question exam in order to renew your CT License”.

CE courses must be completed before the expiration of your license:

  • Broker licenses expire on March 31, 2022
  • Salesperson licenses expire on May 31, 2022

Connecticut Real Estate CE Courses

Delaware

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Broker and Salesperson Post-License

Broker, Broker Associate, Salesperson License
If You Are Issued the License… Then You Must Complete…
On or after 5/1 even years but before 11/1 even years 18 Hours
On or after 11/1 even years but before 5/1 odd years 12 hours
On or after 5/1 odd years but before 11/1 odd years 6 hours
On or after 11/1 odd years but before 1/1 even years 0 hours
On or after 1/1 even years but before 5/1 even years 21 hours

During each licensure renewal period, licensees must complete 21 hours of continuing education (CE) in seven required modules. Each module must be at least three hours in length.

If you are a newly-licensed Salesperson in Delaware who was not previously licensed in another jurisdiction, the content of your CE must meet the following requirements:

  • You must complete the four Newly-Licensed Salesperson Modules, totaling 12 CE hours, within the first 12 months after your license is issued. These 12 hours will be applied to the required amount of CE hours based on the table above.
  • If your CE requirement is 21 hours based on the chart above, you must complete core modules 1, 5, and 6 listed in Module Course Contents.These three modules are in addition to the required four Newly-Licensed Salesperson Modules that you must complete in your first 12 months of licensure.
  • If your CE requirement is 18 hours based on the chart above, you must complete any two of core modules 1, 5 or 6 listed in Module Course Contents. These two modules are in addition to the required four Newly-Licensed Salesperson Modules that you must complete in your first 12 months of licensure.
  • If your CE requirement is 12 or 6 hours based on the chart above, you will meet your CE requirement by completing Newly-Licensed Salesperson Modules.

Subsequent Renewals

Active Real Estate Professionals (Broker, Associate Broker, Salesperson) must complete 21 hours of approved CE during each full licensure renewal periods between May 1 and April 30 even-numbered years (2016-2018, 2018-2020, etc.). The content of your CE must be based on the required Module Course Contents

Delaware Real Estate CE Courses

Florida

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

First-Time Renewal Requirements

Before your license expires during the first renewal cycle, you must complete and pass a state-approved 45-hour post-license curriculum that builds on the knowledge you acquired during the pre-licensing education courses. 

All Subsequent Continuing Education Requirements

After the first post-license renewal period, you’re required to take 14 hours of Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC)-approved continuing education (CE) classes during each two-year license renewal period.

Georgia

Renewal Period: Four (4) years

Salespersons and Brokers

Salespersons and Brokers in Georgia must complete 36 hours of continuing education each four-year license cycle. Three (3) of the thirty-six (3)6 hours must be in Georgia License Law.

Hawaii

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

Licensees are required to complete 20 hours of approved continuing education courses for each two-year license period (January 1 of odd-numbered years through December 31 of even-numbered years); also referred to as the licensing biennium.

Licensees intending to renew their license on an active status by the renewal deadline of November 30 (even-numbered years) must complete 20 hours of approved continuing education courses during the biennium. The required continuing education hours include six (6) hours for the commission designated core course and fourteen (14) hours of elective credit hours.

Georgia Real Estate CE Courses

Idaho

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

Licensees are required to complete 20 hours of approved continuing education courses for each two-year license period (January 1 of odd-numbered years through December 31 of even-numbered years); also referred to as the licensing biennium.

Licensees intending to renew their license on an active status by the renewal deadline of November 30 (even-numbered years) must complete 20 hours of approved continuing education courses during the biennium. The required continuing education hours include six (6) hours for the commission designated core course and fourteen (14) hours of elective credit hours.

Illinois

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salesperson

Each Leasing Agent licensee shall complete a minimum of 8 CE hours from a single core curriculum recommended by the Board and approved by the Department. Renewal period is 2 years.

All licenses issued by DRE will be required to complete a one-hour course in sexual harassment prevention training.

Broker

Continuing Education and Renewal Date: April 30th even years.
Hours Required by DRE: 12 hours

  • 4 mandatory hours
    • 4-hour Core course
  • 8 elective hours
    • 1-hour Sexual Harassment Prevention Training course

Indiana

Renewal Period: Every year

Agents and Brokers

Each year, July 1st through June 30th, twelve (12) hours of continuing education is required. 

Iowa

Renewal Period: Three (3) years

Salespersons and Brokers

All salespersons and all brokers renewing to active status must complete the following 36 hours of continuing education courses prior to December 31st of their renewal year. Must be renewed every three (3) years.

  • 8 hours Law Update
  • 4 hours Ethics
  • 24 hours Commission approved Electives

Kansas

Renewal Period: Every two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

Must complete 12 hours to renew their license, including at least 3 mandatory hours in an approved course titled: "Kansas Required Core."

Kentucky

Renewal Period: Must be completed by December 31 of each year

Agents and Brokers

All actively licensed agents are required to attend six (6) hours of continuing education courses sponsored or approved by the Commission. Of the six (6) hours, three (3) hours must be in courses approved for law credit. All licensees, unless otherwise exempt, shall complete the mandatory continuing education requirement by December 31 of each calendar year.

Louisiana

Renewal Period: One year

Salespersons and Brokers

Renewal of a pre-license instructor certificate shall require annual completion of 12 hours of approved continuing education during the current certification period. The 12 hours shall include four hours in the mandatory topic prescribed by the Commission.

Maine

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons an Brokers

Active associate brokers, brokers and designated brokers are required to complete 21 clock hours of approved continuing education, which includes the 3 clock hour core course that is mandatory at the time of renewal, as a prerequisite to the renewal of a license.

Maryland

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Associate Brokers

Residential Salespersons and Associate Brokers: 15 hours which includes 3.0 legislative, 3.0 Brokerage Relationships and Disclosure, 3.0 ethics, 1.5 fair housing (required classes); the remaining 4.5 hours are electives

Commercial Designation (SOLELY - NO RESIDENTIAL BUSINESS) Salespersons and Associate Brokers: 15 hours which includes 3.0 legislative, 3.0 MREC Agency-commerical, 3.0 ethics (required classes); the remaining 6.0 hours are electives

Brokers and Designated Branch Office Managers or Team Leaders

Residential Brokers, Branch Office Managers or Team Leaders: 15 hours which includes 3.0 legislative, 3.0 Brokerage Relationships and Disclosure, 3.0 ethics, 3.0 supervision, 1.5 fair housing (required classes); the remaining 1.5 hours are electives

Commercial Designation (SOLELY - NO RESIDENTIAL BUSINESS) Brokers, Branch Managers or Team Leaders: 15 hours which includes 3.0 legislative, 3.0 MREC Agency-commerical, 3.0 ethics, 3.0 supervision (required classes); the remaining 3.0 hours are electives

Massachusetts

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

Massachusetts Licensees are required to take 12 continuing education hours every 24 months.

Michigan

Renewal Period: Three (3) years

Salespersons and Broker

As a condition of renewal, a licensee must complete at least 18 clock hours of CE courses that involve any subjects that are relevant to the management, operation, and practice of real estate or any other subject that contributes to the professional competence of a licensee, and at least 2 of those hours of CE must be completed in each license cycle year that involve law, rules, and court cases regarding real estate. A licensee must retain evidence acceptable to the Department that demonstrates he or she has met the CE requirements for at least 4 years after the date of that certification, and must produce that evidence at the request of the Department.

Minnesota

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Brokers

As a real estate licensee, you will have continuing education requirements that must be completed before June 30 each year (except for the first June 30 that occurs after you become licensed for the first time or become newly relicensed after your license was inactive for more than two years). In general, real estate brokers must complete 30 hours of real estate continuing education before their June 30 license renewal deadline, and at least 15 of those hours must be completed before the previous June 30. Continuing education must be taken in the appropriate license period; extra hours or courses do not carry over into the next period or satisfy future renewal requirements.

As part of the 15 hours each license year, a real estate broker must complete a specific general module continuing education course and a specific broker module continuing education course (if one is required for that year). As part of the 30 hours required for license renewal, a real estate broker must successfully complete at least one hour of training in courses in laws or regulations on agency representation and disclosure (“Agency Laws”), and at least one hour of training in courses in state and federal fair housing laws, regulations, and rules, other anti-discrimination laws, or courses designed to help licensees to meet the housing needs of immigrant and other underserved populations (“Fair Housing”).

Salespersons

As a real estate licensee, you will have continuing education requirements that must be completed before June 30 each year (except for the first June 30 that occurs after you become licensed for the first time or become newly relicensed after your license was inactive for more than two years). In general, real estate salespersons must complete 30 hours of real estate continuing education before their June 30 license renewal deadline, and at least 15 of those hours must be completed before the previous June 30. Continuing education must be taken in the appropriate license period; extra hours or courses do not carry over into the next period or satisfy future renewal requirements.

As part of the 15 hours each license year, a real estate salesperson must complete a specific general module continuing education course. As part of the 30 hours required for license renewal, a real estate salesperson must successfully complete at least one hour of training in courses in laws or regulations on agency representation and disclosure (“Agency Laws”), and at least one hour of training in courses in state and federal fair housing laws, regulations, and rules, other antidiscrimination laws, or courses designed to help licensees to meet the housing needs of immigrant and other underserved populations (“Fair Housing”).

Mississippi

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Hours Required by MREC: 16 hours

  • 8 mandatory hours
    • 2 hours in MS License Law
    • 2 hours in Contract Law
    • 4 hours in Agency Law
  • 8 elective hours

Missouri

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Each Real Estate licensee who holds an active license shall complete during the two (2)-year license period prior to renewal a minimum of twelve (12) hours of real estate instruction approved for continuing education credit by the Missouri Real Estate Commission.

At least three (3) of the twelve (12) hours of approved instruction shall be taken in a course approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission as core credit.

Montana

Renewal Period: Every year

Salespersons and Brokers

For Salespersons and Brokers, each active licensee is required to complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education every licensing year. The licensing year is from November 1 through October 31. The required hours shall be in real estate related courses. For supervising brokers, 4 of those hours must be in supervising broker courses.

For Property Managers, each active licensee is required to complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education every licensing year. The required hours shall be in property management or real estate education.

New property management licensees are required to complete their 12 hours by the second renewal date, and four of those hours must consist of a course in property management trust accounts.

Nebraska

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Licensees

Nebraska real estate licensees are required to complete 18 clock hours of real estate continuing education every two (2) years in order to renew a real estate license. 12 hours must be in continuing education activities approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission, of which 6 hours must be in designated subject matter.

Property Managers

In addition to the above requirements, Property Managers must complete three hours of CE coursework which shall be required in each two year period in a property management course or courses approved and designated by the Commission as meeting this requirement for all licensees who provide property management services during such two year period, or who supervise a licensee or licensees who provide property management services during such two year period.

Supervisors

All team members, team leaders, and designated brokers who supervise teams are required to complete three hours of CE coursework on teams or team leadership which are approved and so designated by the Commission for all team members, team leaders, and designated brokers who supervise teams. Courses must be completed within 180 days after being designated a team member or team leader or designated broker supervising a team or teams.

Nevada

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salesperson - First-Time Renewal

  • 30 Hours Post-Licensing of modules A-O. Proof of completion MUST be submitted to the Division.
  • Permit-holders: Property Managers and/or Business Broker permit holders must include 3 hours of continuing education for each permit.

Subsequent Renewals

  • 24 hours of continuing education is required
  • The education requirement is as follows:
  • 3 hours Agency
  • 3 hours Contracts
  • 3 hours Ethics
  • 3 hours Law & Legislation
  • 12 hours of General courses (Property managers or Business Broker permit holder must include 3 hours of continuing education for each permit)

Broker

  • 24 hours continuing education consisting of:
  • 3 hours Agency
  • 3 hours Contracts
  • 3 hours Ethics
  • 3 hours Law & Legislation
  • 3 hours Broker management
  • 9 hours of General courses.

New Hampshire

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

New Hampshire Real Estate Professionals are required to complete 15 continuing education hours every 2 years including a 3-hour core course.

New Jersey

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

Complete of 12 credit hours of CE applicable to the license term. At least six of the twelve credits must be obtained in courses within the “core topics”. The six shall include at least 2 credit hours on ethics. The remaining 6 credits can be electives or core.

New Mexico

Associate Broker - Non Property Management (non-first-time renewal)

  • 4 hours of Ethics
  • 4 hours of Core Elective topics
  • 16 hours of any Elective, Core Elective, Ethics, or up to 4 hours attending NMREC meetings/hearings
  • 12 hours of Core Courses completed in classroom setting (4 hours annually)

Associate Broker - With Property Management (non-first-time renewal)

  • 4 hours of Ethics
  • 4 hours of Core Elective topics
  • 10 hours of any Elective, Core Elective, Ethics, or up to 4 hours attending NMREC meetings/hearings
  • 6 hours of NM UORRA or Commercial Property Management (not offered by Empire Learning)
  • 12 hours of Core Courses completed in classroom setting (4 hours annually)

Qualifying Broker - Non Property Management

  • 8 hours of Core Elective topics
  • 4 hours of Ethics
  • 6 hour Qualifying Broker Refresher Course (not offered by Empire Learning)
  • 3 hours attending NMREC meeting or disciplinary hearing
  • 9 hours of any Elective, Core Elective, Ethics, or up to 1 additional hour of meeting/hearing attendance
  • 12 hours of Core Courses completed in classroom setting (4 hours annually)

Qualifying Broker - With Property Management

  • 12 hours of Property Management topics (of which 8 must be Core Elective)
  • 4 hours of Ethics
  • 6 hour Qualifying Broker Refresher Course (not offered by Empire Learning)
  • 6 hours of NM UORRA (not offered by Empire Learning)
  • 12 hours of Core Courses completed in classroom setting (4 hours annually)
  • Attend NMREC meeting or disciplinary hearing (up to 4 hours CE)

New York

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

All licensees submitting a renewal for a license are required to successfully complete 22.5 hours of approved continuing education, including at least 3 hours of instruction pertaining to fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property and at least one hour of instruction pertaining to the law of agency except in the case of the initial two-year licensing term for real estate salespersons, two hours of agency related instruction must be completed within the two-year period immediately preceding a renewal.

Any salesperson who successfully completes an approved broker qualifying course (which requires passing the final exam), within their current term, will receive continuing education credit for completion of that course.

North Carolina

Renewal Period: Every year

Basic Requirements

  1. In order to renew your license on active status, you must complete eight (8) hours of continuing education (CE) during each July 1 to June 10 license period.
    • For brokers who DO NOT HAVE BIC Eligible Status, four (4) of the required CE credit hours must be obtained by completing the General Update course prescribed by the Commission. The subject matter of this course will be changed by the Commission each license year.
    • For brokers who HAVE BIC Eligible Status, four (4) of the required CE credit hours must be obtained by completing the Broker-in-Charge Update (BICUP) course each license period.
    • The remaining four (4) CE credit hours may be obtained by taking a Commission approved elective course. Elective courses may address a wide variety of real estate topics.
  2. The maximum amount of CE credit awarded for any single course is four (4) hours.
    • Licensees must attend 90% of a CE course and comply with student participating standards in order to receive credit for the course.
  3. A person who is issued a broker license (either by examination or reinstatement) does NOT have to take continuing education courses during the license period in which the license is issued. However, they must satisfy the CE requirement prior to the second renewal of the license.

North Dakota

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

A total of 24 hours of continuing education credits must be taken every two (2) year license cycle. At least 12 credits must be in a state-required subject matter

Ohio

Renewal Period: Three (3) years

Salespersons and Brokers

Each active licensee is required to submit to the Ohio Real Estate Commission proof of completing 30 hours of continuing education every three years due on or before the licensee’s date of birth.
Nine hours must be dedicated to the following topics:
3 hours in Core Law
3 hours in Ethics
3 hours in Civil Rights
All salespersons/brokers and management level licensees will also be required to complete a 3-hour Broker Responsibility course for a total of 12 required core courses.
Each active licensee who is 70 years of age or older on their renewal birthday shall submit proof they have completed the 3 required courses (total of 9 hours) in Civil Rights, Core Law and Ohio Cannons of Ethics. Additionally, all active brokers and management level licensees must submit the 3-hr Broker Responsibility course.

Oklahoma

Renewal Period: Three (3) years

Sales Associate or Broker Associate License Renewal Requirements

Sales Associates (SA) or Broker Associates (BA) are required to complete 21 hours of real estate CE every 3 years. Associate licenses must take 6 required subjects, of at least 1 clock hour in length in:

  • Broker Relationships (BRA)
  • Contracts (CON)
  • Professional Conduct (PSC)
  • Fair Housing (FHR)
  • License Code & Rules (CAR)
  • Hot Topic (HOT)

15 clock hours may be in elective credit as approved by the Commission.

Broker Manager, Proprietor Broker, or Branch Broker License Requirements

Every three (3) years a total of 21 clock hours of real estate CE must be completed in order to renew and maintain an active license in Oklahoma. Broker types listed (with the exception of nonresident broker licenses) must take a 15 clock hour Broker in Charge (BIC) course and two (2) of the six (6) required subject matter courses of: Broker Relationships (BRA), Contracts (CON), Professional Conduct (PSC), Fair Housing (FHR), License Code & Rules (CAR), and Hot Topics (HOT). The required subject matter courses must be at 1 clock hour in length.

Oregon

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Broker

First-time renewal requirements

Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers before renewal date:

  • 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course
  • 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices

Subsequent years

For all active renewals after your first active renewal, you must:

Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers within 2 years before renewal:

  • 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course.
  • A minimum of 27 additional hours of continuing education in required topics.

Principal Broker

First-time renewal requirements

Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers before your first renewal of your active principal broker license:

  • 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course
  • 27-hour Principal Broker Advanced Practices Course

Subsequent years

Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers within 2 years before renewal:

  • 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC).
  • A minimum of 27 additional hours of continuing education in required topics.

Pennsylvania

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Brokers and Salespersons

Real estate brokers and salespersons must complete fourteen (14) hours of Commission-approved continuing education during each two-year license period. If you are a new salesperson licensee and you are renewing your license for the first time, you are required to complete a specific set of continuing education courses.

Rhode Island

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

Licenses issued before January 1, 2020 shall be renewed every two (2) years on May 1 of each even numbered year. Licenses issued after January 1, 2020 shall be renewed every two (2) years on the anniversary of the date the license was issued.

Rhode Island Real Estate professionals are required to complete 24 hours of Continuing Education to renew their real estate license.

At least six (6) of the twenty-four (24) course hours must come from the following subject areas

  1. Rhode Island law defining relationships between licensees and consumers;
  2. Rhode Island law pertaining to real estate licensure;
  3. Rhode Island landlord-tenant law;
  4. The law of contracts;
  5. Federal, Rhode Island, and local law pertaining to fair housing and the treatment of any individual in a protected class as designated in the Rhode Island Fair Housing Practices Act;
  6. Lead hazard mitigation or other environmental issues pertaining to real property;
  7. Local ordinances and regulations pertaining to residential real estate;
  8. Financing the purchase of real estate
  9. Ethical considerations in real estate transactions; or
  10. Coastal real estate, wetlands, flood plains and sea-rise.

There is a one-time requirement for all licensees to take a lead poisoning/lead hazard mitigation course of not less than 3 hours if they didn’t already take it to gain licensure. The Rhode Island Lead Paint Mitigation course may be taken again for mandatory credit in a separate cycle if desired.

South Carolina

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

The South Carolina Continuing Education and Renewal Date is June 30th every 2 years. Licenses expire June 30th every two years beginning with the year in which the license was first issued.

There are 10 hours of Continuing Education credits required by the SCREC. Four (4) of those hours are mandatory courses and six (6) of those hours are elective courses.

South Dakota

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Every two (2) years, South Dakota real estate professionals are required to take twenty-four (24) hours of Continuing Education courses. Twelve (12) of those hours are required subjects and the remaining courses are elective hours.

Tennessee

Renewal Period: Two (2) Years

Tennessee real estate professionals are required to complete sixteen (16) hours of continuing education courses every two (2) years to renew their licenses. Six (6) of the required hours must be a required CORE course. The remaining ten (10) hours are elective courses.

Texas

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

First-Time Renewal

To renew your salespersons license the first time, you must fulfill the Salespersons Annual Education (SAE) requirement, which consists of:

Subsequent Salespersons And Brokers

Active salespersons and brokers in Texas must complete eighteen (18) hours of approved Continuing Education courses.

  • 8 hours of TREC Legal Update I and II
  • 3 hours of contract-related coursework
  • 7 hours of elective CE

If you have been made a supervisor by your broker, you must complete the 6-hour Broker Responsibility course as part of your 18 hours of CE.

Utah

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Salespersons and Brokers

Utah real estate professionals must complete 18 hours of certified Real Estate Continuing Education Courses (CE) every renewal cycle. from a combination of Core Topic and Elective CE courses.

  • A minimum of 9 of the 18 hours must be Core Topic Courses, (and 3 of the 9 required Core Topic Course hours must be satisfied by completing a Division approved 3-Hour Mandatory Course).
  • Elective CE hours can be used to satisfy any remaining required nine (9) hours.
  • b. All new Real Estate Agents are required to take the 12 Hour New Agent Course, the 3- Hour Mandatory Course, and an additional 3 hours of CE (either Core Topic or Elective hours).

Vermont

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Vermont Real Estate professionals are required to complete sixteen (16) continuing education hours every two (2) years. Four (4) hours must be in a subject designated by the Commission for that licensing period.

Virginia

First-Time Renewal

Within your first year of having a Virginia real estate license, you will need to complete post-license education approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board. The requirement consists of 30 credit hours (online or on-campus).

The 30-hour PLE program will consist of 9 courses:

  1. Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights (2 hours)
  2. Real Estate Law and Regulations (6 hours)
  3. Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
  4. Current Industry Issues and Trends (2 hours)
  5. Agency Law (3 hours)
  6. Contract Writing (6 hours)
  7. Risk Management (3 hours)
  8. Escrow Requirements (3 hours)
  9. Real Estate-Related Finance (2 hours)

Salesperson Renewals

Salesperson CE requirements consist of 16 credit hours. Of those 16 hours, 8 hours of coursework must cover certain mandatory topics. The continuing education has to include:

  • 2 hours on fair housing laws
  • 3 hours on ethics and standards of conduct
  • 1 hour on legal updates and emerging trends (including flood zone areas and the National Flood Insurance Program)
  • 1 hour on real estate agency
  • 1 hour on real estate contracts

For the remaining 8 hours, you can choose from different real estate topics and find what interests you most.

Broker Renewals

Brokers have to take 24 hours of CE per two (2) year renewal period. Of those 24, 16 hours of coursework must cover certain mandatory topics.

Broker continuing education must include:

  • 8 hours on supervision and management of real estate agents and brokerage firms
  • 2 hours on fair housing laws
  • 3 hours on ethics and standards of conduct
  • 1 hour on legal updates and emerging trends (including flood zone areas and the National Flood Insurance Program)
  • 1 hour on real estate agency
  • 1 hour on real estate contracts

For the remaining 8 hours, brokers can take their pick of any other real estate CE courses as elective credits.

Washington

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

First-Time Renewal For Brokers

At least 90 hours of Continuing Education courses, including:

  • 30-hour Advanced Practices Course
  • 30-hour Real Estate Law Course
  • 3-hour Core Course
  • At least 27 hours other approved continuing education

Subsequent Renewals for Brokers

At least 30 hours of Continuing Education courses, including:

  • 3-hour Core Course
  • At least 27 hours other approved continuing education
  • At least 15 hours must be completed within 24 months of your renewal date
  • You may also use up to 15 hours of unused continuing education completed within 48 months of your renewal date

Renewal For Managing Brokers

At least 30 hours of Continuing Education courses, including:

  • 3-hour Core Course
  • At least 27 hours other approved continuing education
  • At least 15 hours must be completed within 24 months of your renewal date
  • You may also use up to 15 hours of unused continuing education completed within 48 months of your renewal date
  • The hours must be started after the date of first licensure as a managing broker 

West Virginia

Renewal Period: One (1) year

Salespersons and Brokers

To maintain an active license, every licensee is required to complete seven (7) hours of continuing professional education for each fiscal year in courses approved by the commission. To receive credit, the courses must be taken during the fiscal year preceding the fiscal year for which the licensee is applying for license renewal.

Wisconsin

Renewal Period: Two (2) hours

Salespersons and Brokers

18 hours of continuing education courses. The six (6) courses consist of 3-hour modules with specific course content approved by the Real Estate Examining Board.

Wyoming

Renewal Period: Three (3) years

Associate Broker and Salespersons Requirements

Associate Broker and Salesperson Licensees must complete forty-five (45) total hours of continuing education during each three-year cycle.

  • Twenty-four (24) hours of required coursework
  • Twenty-one (21) hours of elective coursework

Managing Broker Requirements

Responsible Broker Licensees must complete fifty-three (53) total hours of continuing education during each three-year cycle.

  • Twenty-four (24) hours of required coursework
  • Twenty-one (21) hours of elective coursework
  • Eight (8) hours of Wyoming Broker Management

Written and Published by: VanEd


Similar Posts


40,000 Students Since 1997
24/7 Online Course Access