Whether you are a new real estate agent or broker or you are an experienced industry professional, it is important to understand your state's requirements for renewing your real estate license. While some states have basic continuing education and renewal requirements for all licensees, other states have more complicated specifications that differ for agents and brokers. The requirements could be different for different kinds of licenses, for instance, salespersons or managing brokers.
Additionally, some states have different requirements for first-time renewals (post-licensing) than for all subsequent renewals.
Learn about the 5 basic steps to renew a real estate license below.
Steps to Renew a Real Estate License
Understand Your State's Renewal Requirements
The first step to renewing your real estate license is to identify your state's renewal requirements. Many states require real estate agents and brokers to renew every 2-3 years while other states have a longer renewal cycle.
Identify Continuing Education Courses
Next, you will need to identify what education your state requires. Some states like North Carolina, Texas, and Florida require post-license courses for renewing your real estate license the first time. Post-License courses are often required within the first year of obtaining your license. After your first-time renewal, you will need to identify the courses your state requires for all subsequent renewals.
Most states will require you to take several mandatory courses combined with elective courses. Additionally, if you are a real estate broker, make sure to check your state's real estate commission website to find out if you are required to take additional education for renewing your broker license.
Choose a Real Estate School
Once you have identified your courses, you will need to attend an approved real estate school to fulfill these credit-hour requirements. Once again, check with your state's real estate commission to determine if you can complete your CE classes online or if you are required to attend real estate school in a classroom.
Obtain a Certificate of Completion
After you complete your courses, you will need to obtain a certificate of completion that proves you have successfully fulfilled your license renewal requirements. A real estate school such as VanEd makes this easy by providing you with your certificates within your student account.
Submit Paperwork and Pay any License Renewal Fees
Finally, you will need to submit paperwork and pay any required fees to your state's commission. This includes the following three items.
- CE Course Completion Certificate
- License Renewal Application
- Renewal Fees
How Many Hours of Continuing Education Do You Need for Real Estate?
Continuing education, or CE for short, generally refers to any post-secondary learning or programs that adults pursue after their formal education. This can vary from seminars or one-time classes to online courses and entire degree programs.
For real estate agents and brokers, the number of hours required varies from state-to-state. Some states like Texas require 18 hours of continuing education, while states like California require 45 hours. Always make sure to check with your state’s real estate commission to determine the number of hours required for your license.
Find Your State's Continuing Education Requirements
How Do You Complete Your Real Estate CE Courses?
To complete your continuing education courses required by your state, you first need to understand your state’s requirements for your real estate license. After you understand your requirements, you must find state-approved classes or programs that meet these requirements. Most states will even allow you to complete your courses online!
How Many Hours of Post-License Courses Do You Need for Real Estate?>
Some states require real estate post-licensing for your first-time renewal. These states include the following for either salespersons or brokers:
- North Dakota
- South Dakota