Colorado Streamlines Exam Standards for Mortgage Loan Originators

The federal Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (“SAFE Act”) requires MLOs to pass the SAFE MLO test before they can obtain a state issued license.  Applicants have been required to pass a two part examination:  

  1. a national MLO test and
  2. a state-specific test.  

Beginning on March 1, 2016, applicants seeking a Colorado MLO license are now required to successfully pass the National SAFE MLO examination with Uniform State Content.  The test combines both the national and state testing requirements of the SAFE Act. Upon successful completion of the National SAFE MLO examination, an applicant for a Colorado MLO license will not need to take any additional licensing tests.

As part of the new examination requirements, applicants for licensure will need to complete two hours of Colorado specific pre-licensing education.  The total number of pre-licensing hours in Colorado has not increased, but the course content requirements have changed to replace previously required general elective with a state-specific elective.

For those seeking an MLO License or Continuing Education, VanEd is proud to offer these products through our NMLS approved education partner. Visit for more information.

Written and Published by: VanEd

Similar Posts

100,000+ Students Since 1997
24/7 Online Course Access