Cost to Get a Real Estate License in All 50 States

Cost to Get a Real Estate License in All 50 States

Are you thinking about starting a new career and getting your real estate license? Prior to enrolling in an online real estate course, you'll need to save up some money and consider some of the expenses of becoming a real estate agent.

Costs to Consider When Starting a Real Estate Career

1. Pre-License Real Estate Classes and Training

The first cost to consider when planning your new career is the cost to enroll in a pre-license course at an accredited real estate school. You'll need to complete your courses before you can take and pass the real estate exam.

The cost of your education will depend on how many credit hours are required by your states' real estate commission and whether you decide to take your education online or in a classroom. Some states like Colorado require 168 hours of pre-license education. Other states like Georgia require 75 hours of education, and states like Alabama, require only 60 hours.

Estimated Total Cost: $350+

2. Real Estate Exam Fee and Licensing Fee

The next cost to consider is the license application fee, the cost of a background check and fingerprints, the state exam fee, and the cost of the license itself. Each of these varies depending on your state's requirements, the examination provider, and where you get your fingerprints taken.

Application Fee: $25-$30
Fingerprints & Background Check: $100-$125
State Exam: $50
Real Estate License: $150
Estimated Total Cost: $350-$400

Additional costs to consider are real estate broker fees, membership fees for REALTORS®, business expenses, and marketing costs, however, these vary are almost entirely independent of the state you wish to obtain your license in.

In this analysis, we will not be taking into consideration the additional fees associated with getting a license mentioned above. The costs outlined below are averages and are subject to change at any time. Additionally, our analysis is based on the cost to get a Salesperson license and not a broker license. A broker license usually costs more than a salesperson license due to additional education requirements and state licensing fees.

Learn About the Steps to Get Licensed

Education & Licensing Fees for Each State

Alabama

License Fee: $220
Pre-License Education: $300-$400
Total: $600

Alaska

License Fee: $355
Pre-License Education: $375
Total: $730

Arizona

License Fee: $300
Pre-License Education: $400
Total: $700

Arkansas

License Fee: $197
Pre-License Education: $400
Total: $597

California

License Fee: $400
Pre-License Education: $400
Total: $800

Colorado

License Fee: $615
Pre-License Education: $500
Total: $1,115

Connecticut

License Fee: $305
Pre-License Education: $450
Total: $755

Delaware

License Fee: $89
Pre-License Education: $600
Total: $689

Florida

License Fee: $150
Pre-License Education: $200
Total: $350

Georgia

License Fee: $170-$340
Pre-License Education: $350
Total: $540-$690

Hawaii

License Fee: $85
Pre-License Education: $650
Total: $739

Idaho

License Fee: $160
Pre-License Education: $600
Total: $760

Illinois

License Fee: $125
Pre-License Education: $450
Total: $575

Indiana

License Fee: $121
Pre-License Education: $550
Total: $671

Iowa

License Fee: $125
Pre-License Education: $425
Total: $575

Kansas

License Fee: $75
Pre-License Education: $225
Total: $400

Kentucky

License Fee: $192
Pre-License Education: $400
Total: $592

Louisiana

License Fee: $120
Pre-License Education: $350
Total: $470

Maine

License Fee: $121
Pre-License Education: $450
Total: $571

Maryland

License Fee: $110
Pre-License Education: $300
Total: $410

Massachusetts

License Fee: $103
Pre-License Education: $350
Total: $453

Michigan

License Fee: $88
Pre-License Education: $250
Total: $338

Minnesota

License Fee: $175
Pre-License Education: $600
Total: $775

Mississippi

License Fee: $135
Pre-License Education: $250
Total: $385

Missouri

License Fee: $201.05
Pre-License Education: $400
Total: $601.05

Montana

License Fee: $135
Pre-License Education: $400
Total: $535

Nebraska

License Fee: $285
Pre-License Education: $400
Total: $685

Nevada

License Fee: $245
Pre-License Education: $250
Total: $495

New Hampshire

License Fee: $225
Pre-License Education: $360
Total: $585

New Jersey

License Fee: $160
Pre-License Education: $360
Total: $520

New Mexico

License Fee: $240
Pre-License Education: $700
Total: $940

New York

License Fee: $70
Pre-License Education: $350
Total: $420

North Carolina

License Fee: $96
Pre-License Education: $475
Total: $571

North Dakota

License Fee: $230
Pre-License Education: $450
Total: $680

Ohio

License Fee: $60
Pre-License Education: $999
Total: $1,059

Oklahoma

License Fee: $116
Pre-License Education: $425
Total: $541

Oregon

License Fee: $300
Pre-License Education: $375
Total: $675

Pennsylvania

License Fee: $107
Pre-License Education: $350
Total: $457

Rhode Island

License Fee: $100
Pre-License Education: $325
Total: $425

South Carolina

License Fee: $123
Pre-License Education: $500
Total: $623

South Dakota

License Fee: $225
Pre-License Education: $1,000
Total: $1,225

Tennessee

License Fee:$133
Pre-License Education: $500
Total:

Texas

License Fee: $320
Pre-License Education: $475
Total: $795

Utah

License Fee: $152
Pre-License Education: $450
Total: $602

Vermont

License Fee: $100
Pre-License Education: $300
Total: $400

Virginia

License Fee: $170
Pre-License Education: $500
Total: $670

Washington

License Fee: $146.25
Pre-License Education: $400
Total: $546.25

West Virginia

License Fee: $196
Pre-License Education: $550
Total: $746

Wisconsin

License Fee: $144
Pre-License Education: $325
Total: $469

Wyoming

License Fee: $480
Pre-License Education: $400
Total: $880

The cost to get licensed varies from state-to-state, however, you should always consider the initial costs, which include:

  • License Application Fee
  • Background Check
  • Examination Fee
  • Pre-License Education

While some states like Florida and New York are relatively inexpensive, other states like Ohio and Wyoming can cost you over $1,000 due to the cost of pre-license education and licensing fees.

More Information for Agents

Written and Published by: VanEd


Similar Posts


40,000 Students Since 1997
24/7 Online Course Access