How to Get a New York Real Estate License

Real Estate Salesperson License Requirements
New York Real Estate License

Steps to Get Your New York Salesperson License

The New York Real Estate Commission (NREC) requires completion of the following steps to order to receive a Real Estate Salesperson License in New York.

  1. Complete 75 Hours of Approved Education
  2. Pass the Course Final Exam
  3. Pass the New York Real Estate Exam
  4. Choose a Sponsoring Broker
  5. Complete the Licensing Application

Steps to Become a Real Estate Agent in New York

Prerequisites

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must not have any prior felonies or sex offense convictions
  • You must have a current NY photo driver's license or non-driver ID card
  • You DO NOT need to have a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete 75 Hours of Approved Education

    The first step to obtaining a license is to complete the 75-Hour New York Pre-License Course. In this course, you will learn about the following topics:

    • License law
    • Agency law
    • Land use regulations
    • Environmental issues
    • Contract law
    • Real estate finance
    • Commercial properties
    • Real estate investments
    • Property management
  • Pass the Course Final Exam

    After you complete the 75 hours of coursework, you must meet NREC's requirement of passing the pre-license course final exam with a score of 70% or higher.

  • Pass the New York Real Estate Exam

    Next, you must take and pass both the state and national portions of the New York Salesperson License Examination with a score of 70% or higher. You will have 90 minutes to complete the multiple-choice exam. There are 75 questions on your exam, which reflect the content in the 75-hour Pre-Licensing curriculum.

    In New York, exam results are reported as either passed or failed. Test takers will not receive a numerical score after completing their test.

    Mandatory COVID-19 Precautions

    Do not appear for an exam if you meet any of the below:

    • Have a temperature greater than or equal to 100.0 degrees Fahrenheit.
    • Have had known close contact with a person confirmed or suspected to have COVID-19 in the past 14 days.
    • Currently experiencing ANY of the following symptoms:
      • Cough (new or worsening);
      • Shortness of Breath (new or worsening);
      • Troubled Breathing (new or worsening);
      • Fever;
      • Chills;
      • Muscle Pain (new or worsening);
      • Headache (new or worsening);
      • Sore Throat (new or worsening); or
      • New Loss of Taste New Loss of Smell
      • Have tested positive for COVID-19 through a diagnostic test in the past 14 days
    • If you must reschedule your exam due to illness, email exams@dos.ny.gov to reschedule.
    • Do not bring anyone with you to the exam site.
    • Do not appear to the exam site unless your requested exam date is confirmed.
    • Wear a face covering or mask to your exam. Face coverings are mandatory at exam sites.
    • Maintain 6 feet from others when possible at an exam site.
    • Be prepared to sanitize your hands before and after your exam. Hand sanitizer is provided by the exam site.
    • Bring two sanitized #2 pencils to your exam.

    Check the DOS for the Latest Updates

  • Choose a Sponsoring Broker

    To become a real estate salesperson, licensees will need to be sponsored by an active New York broker. This person will serve as your mentor as you start your new career.

    Here are some questions to consider during your search for a sponsoring broker:

    • What is their overall reputation?
    • Are they advanced in their specialty?
    • Are they up-to-date with the latest rules and regulations?
    • To what extent do they support their agents?
    • What kind of commission structure do they offer? Are there benefits?
    • What quality of leads and marketing material do they offer their agents?
    • Is there potential to grow within the brokerage?
  • Complete the License Application

    Finally, you will need to apply for a license with the New York Department of State (DOS). You may mail in your application or apply online. Additionally, if you plan on paying by credit card with Master Card or Visa, you must complete a credit card authorization form that will need to be submitted with your application.

    Bureau of Educational Standards
    P.O. Box 22001
    Albany, NY 12201-2001

    Dowland the Application Form
    Dowland the Credit Card Application Form

How Long Does It Take to Get a Real Estate License in New York?

On average, it takes anywhere from 3-5 months to obtain a real estate license in New York.

However, the amount of time it takes to obtain a real estate license depends on whether the student takes the pre-license coursework online or in a classroom and how much time the student has to dedicate to studying and progressing through their classes.

How Much Does It Cost to Get a New York Real Estate License?

Depending on the real estate school a hopeful licensee decides to attend, it costs between $200 and $425 to get a New York real estate license. The most expensive and vital purchase is that of a real estate school. The cost of pre-license courses depends on whether a student chooses to attend in-person classes or enrolls in an online course. Here are the required fees:

Course Tuition $149.00 - $350.00
Application Fee $55.00
Examination Fee $15.00
Total $200.00 - $425.00

New York Real Estate License Reciprocity

The state of New York offers license reciprocity for real estate brokers, associate brokers, and salespersons for Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia.

Additionally, individuals applying for their license based on reciprocity, attorney status, or having a previous, expired license must submit a paper application by regular mail to the DOS. Real estate licensees who have completed their pre-license education outside of New York State and have received an education waiver must pass the state examination and submit their application to the DOS Licensing office for processing.

States with Reciprocity

State License Requirements
Arkansas Broker only – two years licensure and current. (Business and Residence must be in Arkansas.)
Colorado Broker and Associate Broker. Current licensure. (Business and residence addresses must be in Colorado). Colorado Associate Brokers must submit a salesperson application and $55 fee, along with their certification and irrevocable consent form.
Connecticut Broker and Sales – current licensure only. (Business and Residence must be in Connecticut.)
Georgia Broker and Sales – current licensure only (business and residence must be in Georgia). Must have obtained their license by passing the Georgia exam.
Massachusetts Broker only – two years licensure and current. (Business and Residence must be in Massachusetts.)
Mississippi Broker only – two years licensure and current. (Business and Residence must be in Mississippi.)
Oklahoma Broker and Sales – two years licensure and current. (Business and Residence must be in Oklahoma.)
Pennsylvania Broker and Salesperson – current licensure only. (Business and Residence must be in Pennsylvania)
West Virginia Broker and Sales – current licensure only. (Business and Residence must be in West Virginia.)

For more information on license reciprocity in New York, visit the DOS Real Estate Reciprocity Guide.