- Real Estate
- How It Works
- Contact Us
1 (800) 455-8348Student Login
The Nebraska Real Estate Commission requires completion of the following steps in order to receive a Real Estate Salesperson License in the state of Nebraska. Learn more on the Nebraska Real Estate Commission website.
Note: Licensees from other states need to complete the 3-hour License Law & Agency Relationships course.
Please Note: Completing the VanEd pre-licensing coursework is a necessary step toward obtaining your Nebraska real estate license. However, our program only satisfies #1 and #2 of the six requirements listed above. You will still need to pass the Nebraska real estate exam and fulfill the other four requirements to obtain your Nebraska real estate license.
The chronology for real estate licensing in Nebraska is as follows:
Click here for the Nebraska Candidate Handbook. The booklet provides complete instructions regarding the Nebraska real estate exam, including how to make an appointment, what you are permitted to take (and not take) into the test center, and how you will be scored. At the test center you will be given a brief tutorial on using the test program.
The general or uniform portion of the real estate exam covers real estate law and practice that is common to most states. When you click on the Candidate Handbook link, open the General Content Outline for a breakdown of what is covered on this portion of the exam.
The second part of the Nebraska real estate license exam is specific to Nebraska real estate rules, regulations and law. Click on Candidate Handbook and open the State Law Content Outline to find out what is included on the state specific portion of the broker exam.
You will be given 31/2 hours to complete the entire License exam.
Be prepared to use the calculator at the test center when you take the Nebraska real estate exam. If you feel that math is a challenge for you, please make sure you read and complete all of the problems in MREP and online until you feel comfortable with the formulas.
The Nebraska Real Estate Commission will approve or deny all applicants. It is recommended that if you have a felony charge on your record, including DUI charges, that you first complete the background check process and ask for a preliminary opinion regarding your application before signing up for a Nebraska pre-licensing real estate course.
Information on background checks can be found on the Nebraska Real Estate Commission website.