How to Get a Real Estate License in Georgia

Real Estate Salesperson License Requirements

Getting a real estate license in any state can be a bit overwhelming. But earning a real estate license in Georgia is simple if you follow a few easy steps.

The Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC) requires individuals to complete the following 6 steps to receive a salesperson license.

  1. Complete 75 Hours of Approved Pre-License Education
  2. Pass the Course Final Exam
  3. Submit Fingerprints & Pass a Criminal Background Check
  4. Pass the Georgia Real Estate License Exam
  5. Find a Sponsoring Broker to Work Under
  6. Complete the Licensing Application

Reasons To Get a Georgia Real Estate License

The requirements to get a real estate license vary in each state. However, it takes just a few simple steps to get a real estate license in Georgia. Hopeful licensees can have their real estate license in several weeks.

The average real estate salary is $47,930. Real estate agents in Georgia make an average of $47,610 a year, but the salary ranges from $36,000 to $100,000+ a year, depending on experience and expertise.

Different states require between 20 to over 200 hours of pre-license coursework before taking the exams and earning a license. Georgia requires 75 hours of pre-licensing courses.

Did You Know?

Did you know that you can get your Georgia real estate license entirely online? You can complete Georgia real estate education online at your own pace!

Steps to Get a Real Estate License in Georgia

Prerequisites

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or equivalent
  • Complete 75 Hours of Pre-License Education through an Approved Real Estate School

    The 75-Hour Georgia Pre-License Fundamentals course provides information about various topics including the following:

    • Careers in real estate
    • License law
    • Property rights
    • Forms of ownership
    • Property restrictions
    • Zoning
    • Agency relationships
    • Contracts
    • Deeds
    • Regulations
    • Roles of the Georgia Real Estate Commisison
  • Pass the Course Final Exam

    After completing your 75-hour course, you must pass a course final exam.

    You must answer at least 72% of questions correctly in order to pass your course exam. Candidates must also take the course final exam in the presence of a proctor.

  • Submit Fingerprints and Pass a Criminal Background Check

    Every applicant must pass a background check. Within 60 days before submitting the licensing application, candidates must provide a criminal background check issued by the Georgia Crime Information Center of the Georgia Bureau of Investigation or a certified criminal history report from their resident state.

  • Pass the Georgia Real Estate License Exam

    After completing all the Georgia course materials and passing the course final exam, students must take and pass the Georgia Real Estate Licensing Exam at a PSI Testing Center. Students must take the exam within six months of completing their coursework.

    There are two portions of the exam: state and national. Students have three-and-a-half (3.5) hours to complete both sections of the exam. There are 52 state exam questions and 100 national exam questions.

    The Exam questions are segmented into three different cognitive levels.

    1. Recall: The ability to recall or recognize specific information is required.
    2. Application: The ability to comprehend, relate or apply knowledge to new or changing situations is required.Analysis: The ability to analyze and synthesize information, determine solutions and/or to evaluate the usefulness of a solution is required.

    Students can dowload the PSI Exam Candidate Handbook for more information.

  • Find a Sponsoring Designated Broker to work Under

    A licensee needs to be sponsored by an active managing broker in Georgia. This person will serve as your mentor as you start your new career in real estate.

    Here are some questions to consider during your search for a sponsoring broker:

    • What is their overall reputation?
    • Are they advanced in their specialty?
    • Are they up-to-date with the latest rules and regulations?
    • To what extent do they support their agents?
    • What kind of commission structure do they offer? Are there benefits?
    • What quality of leads and marketing material do they offer their agents?
    • Is there potential to grow within the brokerage?
  • Complete the License Application

    Once you meet all of the prior requirements, obtain your license at any of the PSI testing centers in the state. You can apply for your license as soon as 2:00PM on the same day you pass your exam. You must obtain your license no later than 12 months after passing the exam.

How Much Does It Cost To Get a Real Estate License in Georgia?

Depending on what real estate school a hopeful licensee decides to attend, it costs between $611 and $1,000+ to get a Georgia real estate license. The most expensive and vital purchase is that of real estate school. The cost of real estate pre-license courses depends on both the school and the package that a potential licensee chooses. Here are the required fees:

Course Tuition $280 - $500+
Background Check $40
Salesperson License Fee $170-$340
Examination Fee $121
Total $445 - $745

How Long Does It Take to Get a Georgia Real Estate License?

On average, it takes four (4) months to obtain your real estate license. However, many people take far less or far more time to get their Georgia real estate license depending on the time they have to spend studying and the method delivery they choose for their education. Students can obtain a license in just a few weeks, or they can take their time and earn a license over the course of a year.

The amount of time it takes to obtain a Georgia real estate license depends on the type of pre-license coursework a potential licensee decides to take and their pace to complete the courses.

An individual completes courses at their own pace when completing their real estate school online. Online courses are helpful if an individual wants to complete their studies faster or if they need to take additional time on their coursework.

In the classroom, an individual must follow along at the pace of the class. This option is suitable for individuals who want to connect with classmates and are more motivated in a classroom setting.

What Kind of Jobs Can You Get with a Georiga Real Estate License?

You can serve in a number of different roles with a real estate license in Georgia, including:

  • Residential Real Estate Agent (Buyer's Agent or Seller's Agent)
  • Commercial Real Estate Agent
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Property Manager

Furthermore, there are countless specialties and niches you can fit in, based on the type of real estate, the type of client, and the part you play. Some niches are more well-paid than others – those often call for extra certifications or licenses.

Each real estate career has a wide selection of specialties and niches to choose from. Some specialties pay more than others, but those often necessitate further licensing or certification.

Find out more about how much money you can expect to make in Georgia as a real estate sales agent.

Job Title Average Hourly Wage Average Yearly Wage
Sales Agents $22.89 $47,610
Brokers $30.91 $64,290
Property Managers $25.35 $52,720

As a real estate agent, your income will largely be based on commission, so your earnings will depend directly on how well you sell. In Georgia, the top 90th percentile of sales agents make well over $100,000 per year.

Georgia Real Estate Post-License Requirements

GREC requires the successful completion of 25 hours of post-license education with an approved provider. Post-license curriculum focuses on the legal and practical basics of selling or managing real estate. If the course deals with residential sales, it has to include information on Georgia’s Residential Mortgage Fraud statute.

Post-license credits have to be completed and reported before your first year of licensure. Otherwise, your license will lapse and have to be reinstated.

The completion of your post-license education does NOT represent a license renewal.

All active licensees must complete 36 hours of Continuing Education courses within each four-year renewal period for license renewal.