Once you have finished your coursework, You will receive a certificate of completion (REC-33).
Pass the Pre-License Course Final Exam
When you have completed each of the 6 courses in the 168-Hour Licensing Package, you must pass a course final exam that will prepare you to pass the licensing exam.
Pass the Real Estate Exam
Take and pass both the national and state portions of the Colorado Broker Exam at a PSI test center. You must answer 60 out of 80 questions correctly with a score of 75% or higher to pass the exam.
Submit Fingerprints and Complete a Background Check
Complete your background check requirement. This consists of submitting a set of fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation. These fingerprints are used to conduct a state and federal fingerprint-based criminal history background check and assessment.
Options for Getting Fingerprints
Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) requires fingerprint transmission through a Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) approved provider. You have the following 3 options for choosing a provider.
Option 1: IdentoGo
IdentoGo centers are located across the state of Colorado and the US. You must schedule an appointment as walk-ins are not allowed.
You may also get fingerprints from CABS. Additionally, walk-ins are not permitted and you must schedule an appointment through their website. Brokers must provide the following license code upon requesting an appointment. 0800REEI.
Option 3: Fingerprint Card with Electronic Transfer
If you are unable to locate a physical location near you or reside outside the state, you may use this option for submitting your fingerprints. If you select this method, be sure to use FBI fingerprint card FD-258.
Once your background check is processed, any discrepancies on your Colorado arrest record can be challenged and corrected by following the instructions located on CBI's website.
Every active real estate licensee, including licensed real estate companies with more than one broker, shall have in effect a policy of errors and omissions insurance to cover all acts requiring a license.
Apply for Your License
The Colorado Division of Real Estate uses online eLicense services for new licensee apply online for their broker license. Applications can take up to 10 business days from the time of receipt for the Division to process the request. The initial broker application fee is $485.00.
Completing VanEd's pre-licensing coursework is only the first step toward obtaining your Colorado real estate license. VanEd can help you complete each step in the licensing process above.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Real Estate License in Colorado?
The entire process from taking the required education to receiving your license takes anywhere from 2 to 4 months.
While VanEd students have a full year to complete their coursework, most finish in less than 6 months. Fingerprinting and the background check take anywhere from 2 to 6 weeks.
Colorado Real Estate Exam
The Colorado broker license exam consists of two parts. You will have approximately two hours to complete each part of the exam. The general portion of the exam covers real estate law and practice which is common in most states. The second part of the broker exam is specific to Colorado real estate rules, regulations, and contracts. The test is not open book, and you may not bring anything with you to the test center.
For more information about the exam itself, visit candidate.psiexams.com to download the most current Candidate Information Bulletin. This handbook provides you with complete information about the examination and application process. When you are ready to schedule your exam, you will do so on the PSI website. You will need to print out your REC-33 (provided by VanEd) and take it with you to the test center in order to be permitted to take your exam.
Prior Qualifications and Real Estate Experience
The Colorado Real Estate Commission recognizes prior experience and qualifications in real estate and related fields and reduces the licensing education requirements accordingly. Reciprocal licensing may apply to the following individuals:
Reciprocity - Licensees in Another State (jurisdiction) looking to obtain their licensure
Students who have received a degree from a university with a major in real estate
Licensed Attorneys at Any Bar
Licensed attorneys at any Bar are required to complete 12 hours of pre-license education and pass the entire brokers exam.
VanEd offers an attorney's course of 32 hours, which includes materials that cover Trust Accounts in addition to the required credit hours. This ensures that attorneys have the best available information.
Exam Prep is also included to help prepare you to pass the Colorado state exam. Instructors are available to answer any questions that you may have, and VanEd will include the fingerprint background check information and fingerprint card to better assist you in meeting that requirement.
Expired Colorado Real Estate Licenses - Former Licensees
Education Requirements for Previous Colorado Licensees (Expired License) Prior to January 1, 1997
You must complete 72 hours of Education and pass both portions of the Colorado real estate Broker's exam.
If you previously held your license as an ACTIVE broker for 2 or more years then you will qualify at the Independent Broker License level. If you have been licensed as a Broker for less than 2 years you will be qualified for the Associate Broker level of licensure after passing the state portion of the Colorado Broker's exam.
In order to activate at the Employing Broker level of authority, you will also need to complete the 24 hour Brokerage Administration course. This course is a Continuing Education course. VanEd offers all of the courses you need: Click Here for VanEd's complete Colorado CE course list, scroll down to Brokerage Administration for more info.
VanEd includes Exam Prep for free (a $99 value) to all of our pre-licensing students, and instructors are available to answer any questions that you have via phone and email, and are online in the Q & A's, which are available to students 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You will be able to apply at the Associate Broker level of authority.
Education Requirements for Previous Colorado Licensees (Expired License) After January 1, 1997
You must pass both parts of the Colorado Real Estate Broker's Exam
VanEd offers the Colorado License Prep Program, specifically designed for students needing to pass the exam that were previously licensed.
Colorado Real Estate License Reciprocity
Education Requirements for Out-of-State Licensees Holding an Active or Inactive License for More than 2 Years
Note: The two years cannot count time with an "Expired" license.
Broker level licensees, if you have held that designation as an ACTIVE licensee for 2 or more years then you will qualify at the Independent Broker License level by passing the state portion of the Colorado Broker's Exam.
If you have been licensed as a Broker for less than 2 years you will be qualified for the Associate Broker level of licensure after passing the state portion of the Colorado Broker's exam.
Our Exam Prep Program will not only help you pass the state exam on your first try, but will also teach you about Colorado contracts, closings, and trust accounts. Exam Prep practice exams are included, as well as instructional and technical support.
You may be licensed in Colorado by passing the state exam. VanEd offers exam prep online, however our instructors highly recommend taking our Colorado License Prep program.
This program will not only help you pass the state exam on your first try, but will also teach you about Colorado contracts, closings, and trust accounts. Exam Prep practice exams are included, as well as instructional and technical support.
Education Requirements for Out-of-State Licensees Holding an Active or Inactive License for Less than 2 Years
You will need to successfully complete a 72 credit hour course in Contracts and Closings. You will need to pass both parts of the Colorado real estate broker's exam.
You will need to order a license history from each jurisdiction that you have previously been licensed in. Many states have online services allowing you to do this quickly.