Florida has a 2-tier real estate license renewal system for both sales associate and broker licensees (both residential & commercial).
1. Initial Florida Real Estate License Renewal
For the first renewal period after receiving your real estate license, you are required to complete Post-License education approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC). Sales associates must complete 45 credit hours of education and Brokers must complete 60 credit hours of education. The only exemption to Post License education is for those holding a 4-year degree in real estate.
Online Florida Post-License Courses
2. All Subsequent Florida Real Estate License Renewals
Both sales associates and Brokers are required to complete 14 credit hours of FREC approved continuing education in each real estate license renewal cycle. Of this, 3 credit hours must be approved to cover Florida Core Law topics as defined by FREC and 3 credit hours must cover Ethics and Business Practices (E&B). Active Florida Bar members may be exempt from the continuing education requirement - be sure to confirm that the FREC is aware of your bar members.
Online Florida Real Estate Continuing Education Courses
IMPORTANT - Course Completion Reporting
CE and Post-License credit will be reported to the DBPR by Florida REALTORS within 30 days of completion, unless coursework is completed within a renewal month (March or September) when the information will be reported to the DBPR within 10 days from the date of completion.
Helpful Links for Renewing Your License
Licensing Portal: Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulations (DBPR)
Florida Real Estate Commission Initial Broker Application
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation - The Division of Real Estate
400 West Robinson Street, N801
Orlando, FL 32801