- Real Estate
- How It Works
1 (800) 455-8348Student Login
The CREC (Colorado Real Estate Commission) has issued a notice that continuing education audits are being undertaken. For more information on how to prepare for an audit, please click below.
Complete a minimum of 24 hours of Continuing Education during your license cycle using one of the options listed below.
Some (but not all) Colorado licensees may need the CREC Broker Transition Course as anniversary dates for license renewal are updated. To determine if you need to take this Broker Transition course you can check your status using our interactive Transition Course tool.
If you have missed an Annual Commission Update course you have the following options to stay compliant:
Licensed Colorado real estate brokers are now required to complete an electronic ABA disclosure. Licensees may use the following link to go directly to the online registration page.
What is it?
Beginning July 1, 2005, for all brokers licensed prior to July 1, 2004, the licensee was required to complete a finger-print based Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) Criminal History Background check. This was a one-time requirement and will not be needed for subsequent renewals.
For licensees activating an inactive or expired license, you will need to complete the background check as part of your renewal, but only if you have never completed it before. You will need to allow at this point up to 6 weeks for completion of the Criminal Background check (estimate subject to change).
What do I need to do?
You can view the Commission documents with instructions on how to obtain your fingerprint card and detailed instructions at the time you make your application.
You can check the status of your submitted fingerprints online by creating an account or logging into your account using the link below.
Required for renewals - Affidavit of Eligibility form is available online. The new law required government agencies issuing licenses to verify that those receiving a license are living in the country legally. Please note that the Division of Real Estate will include the Affidavit of Eligibility verification for those who renew their license online, and no additional paperwork is necessary. You will be asked to submit the ID# of the Secure and Verifiable document you use in support.
E & O Insurance is mandated by Colorado law, and typically has an enrollment period of January 1st through December 31st of each year regardless of license expiration deadlines!
View the Commission Page online regarding Errors & Omissions Insurance:
Errors & Omissions (E&O) insurance independent carriers for Colorado licensees >
You can enroll for the group carrier policy online. Make sure your E & O Insurance enrollment is complete prior to renewing your active license.
Group Errors & Omissions (E&O) insurance program for Colorado licensees >
You may renew online at the real estate commission website. You will also be able to view the status of your background check and E & O Insurance once you renew.
Please Note: Licensees may renew online beginning 45 days prior to expiration.
For all REALTOR® members of NAR, the Quadrennial Ethics training is required.
NAR has mandated that every member shall complete the minimum ethics training requirement, the first time ending December 31, 2004, and again at least once every 4 years thereafter. CAR has made available a 4-hour Mandatory NAR Ethics course so that members may comply with this requirement. VanEd also offers additional Ethics courses that you can select from. NAR has stated that members who do not complete this requirement will be suspended. The current cycle of Ethics Quadrennial requirements is going on now.
The NAR 4-hour mandatory Ethics course is available online and does come with 4 hours of CE credit. You may also complete the 6-Hour Ethics and Professional Practices CE course or any of our other approved Ethics courses to fulfill this requirement. Some local boards establish separate requirements, such as procuring cause coursework, so be sure to check with your board to understand which course you need to take.
Licensed brokers must satisfy the Colorado continuing education requirement before applying to renew an active license, to activate an inactive license or to reinstate an expired license to active status.
Local Boards and Associations can set higher standards than those you see here. Make sure to check with your local Board or Association office to determine any additional coursework you will need to complete.