Depending on the state, if you’re a newly-licensed real estate agent, you might be required to complete post-license education. Of course, this education requirement is on top of any pre-license courses you may have taken to get your real estate license.
Real estate post-license requirements vary state-by-state and cover a wide range of topics, but we’ll provide an overview of the most important things you need to know.
Real Estate Post-License Education Requirements
Post-licensing is used synonymously with post-license education. It’s the state-mandated education requirements for new real estate sales agents or brokers.
To keep your real estate license active, you need to complete post-licensing training before your first license renewal. So, if in your state’s real estate licenses expire after two years, you have two years to complete your post-licensing education.
As we mentioned above, post-licensing requirements are mandated and managed by individual states, and only a few states require Post-Licensing. Here are some examples of states’ real estate post-license requirements.
Texas Sales Apprentice Education (SAE) Requirements
Before you renew your real estate license for the first time in Texas, you need to complete a total of 270 qualifying real estate course hours, as well as eight hours of TREC legal update courses. The good news is that your 180 hours of pre-licensing courses count toward this total!
That means you just need to take another 98 hours of SAE courses before your renewal. Additionally, you’ll need to submit your course completion documentation to the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) at least 10 days before you renew your license.
Washington Post-License Education Requirements
The Washington State Department of Licensing requires new brokers to complete 90 hours of first-time continuing education within two years of receiving their license. For your first active renewal, you must take:
- 30-Hour Advanced Practices Course
- 30-Hour Real Estate Law Course
- 3-Hour Core Course
- At least 27 hours other approved continuing education
Also, you cannot start these courses until after the date of your first licensure.
Florida Post-License Education Requirements
Florida has different post-license education requirements for both sales associates and brokers. Each must complete an exam, but if you are a sales associate, you only need to complete 45 hours of post-license courses within 18-24 months.
If you are a broker, you’ll need to complete 60 hours. The good news is that you can complete your sales associate or broker post-license course online. This makes it much more convenient than in-person classes.
Georgia Post-License Education Requirements
The state of Georgia and the Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC) requires all sales agents to complete 25 hours of post-license education. This 25-hour post-license course must be completed within the first year of licensure before licensees renew their real estate license.
Alabama Post-License Education Requirements
The Alabama Real Estate Commission (AREC) requires all sales agents and brokers to complete 30 hours of post-license education. This 30-hour post-license course must be completed within the first 6 months to 1 year of licensure before licensees can renew and take continuing education courses.
What Is the Difference Between Post-Licensing and Continuing Education?
While post-license education and continuing education sound similar, the most substantial difference between the two is simply the time frame they’re complete in. You need to complete post-licensing courses prior to the first renewal of your real estate license.
After you’ve completed your post-licensing and have renewed your license, you will need to keep up with your real estate continuing education regularly. Sometimes the requirements for post-licensing and continuing education are very similar. Again, it depends on the state you’re licensed in so always make sure to check with your state's Real Estate Commission.
Where to Get Your Post-Licensing Education?
Luckily, you can take your post-licensing courses online or in-person – it's dependent on your learning style. If you do prefer to take your classes online, you can select your courses online at VanEd or at Agent Campus® by 360training.
Our courses will fulfill your state-mandated requirements and allow you to complete your training within the comfort of your home. Sign up for your real estate post license online courses today!
Written and Published by: VanEd