Nevada Appraisal License Information

The Nevada Real Estate Commission has identified four levels of real property appraisal classification:

  • Registered Intern
  • Licensed Residential Appraiser
  • Certified Residential Appraiser
  • Certified General Appraiser

Please Note: The Nevada Real Estate Commission does not allow the 15-hour USPAP course to be administered online, but instead must be taken in a classroom environment locally. Please contact the Nevada Real Estate Commission for a list of approved USPAP providers in your area.

Current Nevada Appraiser License Requirements

Registered Intern

To become a registered intern, the applicant must meet the following criteria:
  • Show proof of completion of the following education: (courses must be approved by the Nevada Commission of Appraisers)
    • 30 hours of basic appraisal principles;
    • 30 hours of basic appraisal procedures;
    • 15 hours of National USPAP;
    • 3 hours of Nevada Law.
  • Submit a completed registration application; and
  • Submit required fees
    • $100.00 application fee
    • $190.00 registration fee
  • 2-year valid period
***ATTENTION INTERNS***
Pursuant to NAC 645C.068 Registered interns are required to attend 6 hours of a Commission hearing prior to applying for a license/certification.

The Commission hearing dates for 2008 are now posted.

NAC 645C.068 Requirement for registered intern to attend meetings of Commission. (NRS 645C.210) A registered intern must attend at least 6 hours of meetings of the Commission before he may apply for a license or certificate. The Commission will certify to the attendance of the registered intern.

(Added to NAC by Comm’n of Appraisers of Real Estate by R158-05, eff. 9-18-2006)

Licensed Residential Appraiser
Applicants for a residential appraiser license must:
  • Show proof of completion of the following education (courses must be approved by the Nevada Commission of Appraisers):
    • 30 hours basic appraisal principles;
    • 30 hours basic appraisal procedures;
    • 15 hours National USPAP;
    • 15 hours residential market analysis and analysis of the highest and best use of real estate;
    • 15 hours valuation of a site and cost approach for a residential appraiser;
    • 30 hours residential sales comparison and income approaches;
    • 15 hours of instruction on residential report writing and case studies; and
    • 3 hours of Nevada Law.
  • Show proof of at least 2 years and 2,400 hours of experience working as an appraiser or intern; and
  • Submit a completed license application; and
  • Show proof of passing the Appraisal examination or proof of active licensure in another state.
  • Submit required fees:
    • $100.00 application fee; and
    • $240.00 license fee; and
    • $50.00 Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council fee
  • 2-year valid period.
* EDUCATION MUST BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO TAKING THE STATE LICENSING EXAM *
Certified Residential Appraiser
Applicants must:
  • Show proof of completion of the following courses: (courses must be approved by the Nevada Commission of Appraisers)
    • 30 hours basic appraisal principles;
    • 30 hours basic appraisal procedures;
    • 15 hours National USPAP;
    • 15 hours market analysis and analysis of the highest and best use of real estate;
    • 15 hours residential appraiser valuation of a site and cost approach;
    • 30 hours residential sales comparison and income approaches;
    • 15 hours residential report writing and case studies;
    • 15 hours statistics, modeling and finance;
    • 15 hours advanced residential applications and case studies;
    • 3 hours Nevada Law; and
    • 20 hours of instruction in elective courses relating to appraisals.
An applicant for a certificate as a residential appraiser must:
  • Hold an associate degree or higher from an accredited college or university; or
  • Have earned at least a total of 21 semester credit hours or its equivalent in the following subjects, with a minimum of 3 semester credit hours or its equivalent in each of the following subjects, from an accredited college or university:
    1. English composition;
    2. Principles of micro- or macroeconomics;
    3. Finance;
    4. Algebra, geometry or a higher level of mathematics;
    5. Statistics;
    6. Introduction to computers, including word processing and spreadsheets; and
    7. Business or real estate law.
  • Show proof of at least 2 years of and 2,500 hours experience working as an appraiser or intern, including not less that 500 hours of experience relating to complex property (NRS 645C 0.55 'Complex property' defined);
  • Submit a completed license application;
  • Show proof of passing the Appraisal examination or proof of active licensure in another state; and
  • Submit required fees:
    • $100.00 application fee; and
    • $240.00 license fee; and
    • $50.00 Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council fee
  • 2-year valid period.
* EDUCATION MUST BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO TAKING THE STATE LICENSING EXAM *
Certified General Appraiser
Applicants must:
  • Show proof of completion of the following education: (courses must be approved by the Nevada Commission of Appraisers)
    • 30 hours basic appraisal principles;
    • 30 hours basic appraisal procedures;
    • 15 hours National USPAP;
    • 30 hours general market analysis and highest and best use;
    • 30 hours general appraiser valuation of a site and cost approach;
    • 30 hours general appraiser sales comparison approach;
    • 60 hours general appraiser income approach;
    • 80 hours general appraiser report writing and case studies;
    • 15 hours statistics, modeling and finance;
    • 3 hours of Nevada Law; and
    • 30 hours of instruction in elective courses relating to appraisals.
An applicant for a certificate as a general appraiser must:
  • Hold a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university; or
  • Have earned at least a total of 30 semester credit hours or its equivalent in the following subjects, with a minimum of 3 semester credit hours or its equivalent in each of the following subjects, from an accredited college or university:
    1. English composition;
    2. Principles of microeconomics;
    3. Principles of macroeconomics;
    4. Finance;
    5. Algebra, geometry or a higher level of mathematics;
    6. Statistics;
    7. Introduction to computers, including word processing and spreadsheets;
    8. Business or real estate law; and
    9. Two elective courses in accounting, geography, agricultural economics, business management or real estate.
  • Show proof of at least 3 years working as an appraiser or intern and 3,600 hours experience, including not less than 1,500 hours of experience of appraising commercial real estate of experience ;
  • Submit a completed license application; and
  • Show proof of passing the Appraisal examination or proof of active licensure in another state; and
  • Submit required fees:
    • $100.00 application fee;
    • $340.00 license fee; and
    • $50.00 Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council fee
  • 2-year valid period
* EDUCATION MUST BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO TAKING THE STATE LICENSING EXAM *

Nevada Appraisal Regulatory Agency

Nevada Real Estate Commission
1179 Fairview Drive, Suite E
Carson City, NV 89701-5453
(775) 687-4280
Click for State Website

Recent Changes to Real Property Appraiser Qualifications

Beginning January 1, 2015, the AQB has made significant changes to appraisal qualifications. Some states may choose to implement the changes sooner, so be sure to check with your state regulator.

Several important changes are outlined below, with complete details available on this AQB publication:
UPCOMING CHANGES TO REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER QUALIFICATIONS >

IMPORTANT CHANGE: Increased College Degree Requirements

Implications: After January 1, 2015, you must hold a bachelor's degree to obtain the Certified Residential license level or beyond. If you achieve this license level prior to January 1, 2015, you will be grandfathered in under the old regulations.

IMPORTANT CHANGE: Experience Hours are Required BEFORE taking the licensing exam.

Implications: For the Licensed, Certified Residential and Certified General license levels, the required coursework must be completed prior to taking the licensing exam. If you intend to upgrade your license prior to the January 1, 2015 rules change, you need to be sure that you have enough time to complete your experience hours.

Live Chat