A successful career in Florida real estate is highly desirable. This profession allows you to choose your work schedule and map your career. A real estate agent’s income is dependent on experience and hard work. You are not tied to an office for eight hours a day. Instead, you get to meet new people and know new areas of your city.
A real estate career does not guarantee success, but agents who put in the time and work often do exceptionally well for themselves. After a few years of building a client base and getting to know the industry, agents can make over six figures.
Get a Florida Real Estate License
Join over 100,000 other students and get licensed online at VanEd. Save 35% with Promo Code LICENSE35.
How Much Does It Cost To Earn Your Florida Real Estate License?
The cost to get a real estate license in Florida is between $350 and $700 and takes 4-6 months on average. This means you can begin your new career and be just as, if not more, financially successful without debt or years past from earning a degree.
Below is a breakdown of the total licensing cost, including education, exam fees, and application fees.
1. Real Estate School – $200 - $500+
Choosing the right real estate school is essential for your success. Make sure your school is FREC approved, has a high pass rate, and offers support to its students.
There are many real estate options. Some real estate schools, such as VanEd, are 100% online and can be completed anytime, anywhere. VanEd 63-Hour Pre-License courses also provide online support from instructors and payment plans. Other schools offer in-person classes.
To better understand which school is right for you, check out this blog: Online vs. Classroom Real Estate Courses - Which Is Better?
Exam Fee – $36.75 per attempt
Many people need to take the Florida real estate exam more than once to pass. It costs $36.75 each time you take the test. Make sure you study as much as possible to keep from retaking the exam.
Application and Processing Fee – $89
The real estate exam application fee is $89. You will also need to pay a fingerprinting fee of approximately $50.
What Are The Costs to Maintain a Real Estate License in Florida?
Even after school, exam fees, licensing fees, and background checks, there are periodic courses that real estate agents must take to maintain their license.
First, FREC requires all new agents to take a post-licensing course before their first renewal.
Some states require their agents to take a post-license course during their first license renewal cycle. This post-license training is a one-time course that serves as an extension of your real estate education. Florida requires a 45-Hour Post-License Course during the first license renewal cycle for agents and a 60-Hour Post-License Course for Brokers.
After post-licensing, agents must take Continuing education courses. These Continuing Education (CE) courses keep real estate agents up to date on the laws of their state, serve as an information refresher, and allow real estate agents to learn more about the real estate industry.
How often agents and brokers need to take CE courses varies depending on their licensing state. View all Florida license renewal requirements. CE is an excellent opportunity to gain knowledge and update your skills to advance even further in the industry.
Many brokerages pay for their agents’ CE courses. Ask your sponsoring broker if CE is something they offer.
Written and Published by: VanEd