Colorado CAM FAQ

Some of our most frequently asked questions concerning the Colorado CAM license are answered below:

How do I know if I need a Community Association Manager License?

We can help you identify if you are a candidate for licensure.

Colorado CAM Licensing Overview.
If you handle the funds or budgets of a community association, coordinate maintenance for an association or conduct inspections or maintenance for a community association you may be required to be licensed as a Community Association Manager, or CAM.

Other services that may require licensure would include record-keeping, conduction association meetings and administering applications for architectural review. Essentially, anyone performing multiple services relating to the day-to-day operation of a common interest community may fall under the statute.

Still not sure whether you need a CAM License?
Take our detailed CAM Licensing Questionnaire >

What are the deadlines for application and licensure?

See all of the important dates associated with CAM Licensure.

All Colorado Community Association Managers must be licensed by July 1, 2015.

Fingerprints for background checks can be submitted anytime after January of 2015.

Testing for the state exam begins around February 1, 2015 through PSI.

CAM applications will be available online with DORA after April 1, 2015.

What fees should I expect to pay to become a licensed Community Association Manager?

See the list of possible expenses associated with a CAM license.

Above the cost of the pre-exam coursework, students can expect to pay for a background check, state exam and licensing fee.

CAM Licensees may also be required to obtain E&O Insurance and a Fidelity Bond. Designated Managing CAM licensees may also need to establish trust accounts per Division rules.

What education is required in order to be eligible to take the Colorado state exam?

Find the courses and education requirements for sitting for the CAM licensing exam.

Anyone not meeting one of the education excemptions (see the next FAQ Question) must complete the 24 Hours of required coursework as mandated by the Colorado Division of Real Estate.

VanEd presents the required coursework in an easy to complete format of 3 8-hour courses. These courses also qualify for real estate continuing education for Colorado brokers looking to complete both requirements. Upon successful completion of all 24 hours of coursework students will be presented with a certificate of eligibility allowing them to sit for the CAM: Community Association Manager Licensing Exam.

Courses in this package include:

  • Colorado Laws & Rules: CCIOA, CRNA and Fair Housing #5245
  • Governance and Documents for Owners Associations #5246
  • Operations and Risks in Owners Associations #5244

Register For Online Courses Today >

What continuing education (CE) is required in order to maintain my CAM license each year?

Colorado CAM License Holders are required to complete 8 hours of approved continuing education annually.

All Licensed Community Association Managers are required to complete 8 hours of continuing education coursework each year. CAM CE must be completed prior to your license expiration date (June 30th) in order for the licensee to be eligible to renew their license.

VanEd presents the required coursework in an easy to complete format online. Some of these courses may also qualify for real estate continuing education for Colorado brokers looking to complete both requirements. Upon successful completion of coursework students will be presented with a certificate of completion allowing them to renew their CAM: Community Association Manager License.

Register For Online CAM CE Courses Today >

Are there any Exemptions to the license education requirements?

Certain designations and those holding a CAM license in another state may be exempt from the required education.

Designations
Your status as a designee in any of the following programs through the CAI organization may offer some leeway on the education requirements, but you will need to confirm the rules through your designation. In most cases, those holding the following designations will still be required to pass the Colorado CAM Licensing Exam.

  • CMCA
  • AMS
  • PCAM

Out-of-State License Holders
If you hold a CAM license in another state and have at least two (2) years of active licensure you will need to take the Colorado portion of the CAM Licensing Exam. You will need to order a license history report from your current state regulatory agency and have it submitted directly to the Division of Real Estate.

IMPORTANT: Even if you are exempt from the education requirement, you must still pass the Colorado CAM Licensing Exam.

I have been an Association Manager for over 5 years - aren’t I exempt from CAM licensing requirements?

No.

Regardless of the amount of time you have been in the industry, you will still need to meet the education and testing requirements for licensure.

Some people may choose to use their experience to earn a designation instead of taking the DRE Approved education coursework, but the costs and requirements are similar for each option.



Live Chat