South Dakota Appraisal License Information

The South Dakota Department of Commerce and Regulation have identified four levels of real property appraisal classification:

  • State-Registered Appraiser
  • State-Licensed Appraiser
  • State-Certified Residential Appraiser
  • State-Certified General Appraiser

Current South Dakota Appraiser License Requirements

The South Dakota Department of Commerce and Regulation has established the minimum educational requirements for an appraisal license. The minimum educational requirements include the following:

State-Registered Appraiser
75 hours, including 15 hours of ethics and standards. No experience requirements. May perform any noncomplex property appraisal with a transaction value of less than $250,000 and assist a licensed or certified appraiser in the preparation of federally related transaction purpose appraisals. College-level requirements: None

State-Licensed Appraiser
150 hours, including 15 hours of ethics and standards. One thousand hours across at least 24 months. Any noncomplex non-residential property appraisal or complex one- to four-family residential property appraisal with a transaction value of less than $250,000 and any noncomplex one- to four-family residential property appraisal with a transaction value of less than $1,000,000. College-level requirements: None

State-Certified Residential Appraiser
200 hours, including 15 hours of ethics and standards and narrative report writing. Twenty-five hundred hours across at least 24 months, including at least 1,250 hours of residential experience. Any noncomplex non-residential property appraisal with a transaction value of less than $250,000 and any one- to four-family residential property appraisal without regard to transaction value or complexity. College-level requirements: Associate degree or higher. In lieu of the required degree, 21 semester credit hours covering the following subject matter courses: English Composition; Principles of Economics (Micro or Macro); Finance; Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Computer Science; and Business or Real Estate Law.

State-Certified General Appraiser
300 hours, including 15 hours of ethics and standards and narrative report writing. Three thousand hours across at least 30 months, including at least 1,500 hours non-residential experience. Any type of property without regard to transaction value or complexity. College-level requirements: Bachelors degree or higher. In lieu of the required degree, 31 semester credit hours covering the following subject matter courses: English Composition; Principles of Economics (Micro or Macro); Finance; Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Computer Science; and Business or Real Estate Law; and 2 elective courses in accounting, geography, ag-economics, business management, or real estate.

South Dakota Appraisal Regulatory Agency

South Dakota Department of Commerce and Regulation: Appraiser Certification Program
Ms. Sherry Bren: Executive Director
308 South Pierre Street
Pierre, SD 57501
(605) 773-4608
Click for State Website

Recent Changes to Real Property Appraiser Qualifications

Beginning January 1, 2015, the AQB has made significant changes to appraisal qualifications. Some states may choose to implement the changes sooner, so be sure to check with your state regulator.

Several important changes are outlined below, with complete details available on this AQB publication:
UPCOMING CHANGES TO REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER QUALIFICATIONS >

IMPORTANT CHANGE: Increased College Degree Requirements

Implications: After January 1, 2015, you must hold a bachelor's degree to obtain the Certified Residential license level or beyond. If you achieve this license level prior to January 1, 2015, you will be grandfathered in under the old regulations.

IMPORTANT CHANGE: Experience Hours are Required BEFORE taking the licensing exam.

Implications: For the Licensed, Certified Residential and Certified General license levels, the required coursework must be completed prior to taking the licensing exam. If you intend to upgrade your license prior to the January 1, 2015 rules change, you need to be sure that you have enough time to complete your experience hours.

Live Chat